Help & Support
Have a question? Post here and a community member will be happy to help you. You can also leave suggestions/feedback for our Community Manager to investigate too!
Forum banner picture
    Level 1
    I moved to my new house on 30th March. Then, the house did not have any credit on Gas meter, So I lived here for 1-2 days without heating. My agency / owner did not give me any cards or keys for the gas or electricity meter. I am very new in this country. So i also didnt have any idea how to pay for my electricity and gas. Anyways,I talked to a cashier in a shop and she gave me a SSE gas card. I topped up 5 pounds just to check whether it will run on my meter or not. Yes, the meter read my card and 3 pounds just vanished because of the last tenant owed 3 pounds. I had no idea. ANyways finally I got gas after 2 days. Then the gas ran for one more day and it was zero balance again. Then I topped up 40 pounds on that card now I do have gas finally.
    Today on 6th march I got a Letter ( mail) from Utilita and went through the letters and instructions. So now I know who is the provider. So now I have only 5 questions.

1. As I was not given any card/ keys from the owner of my property or my agency, Do I need a gas card and electricity keys/card?

2. If I need the card and keys, do I need to pay for them? ( As i didnt lose them. I just didnt get them from anyone)

3. Can I just top up without any cards /keys ? ( What is digital E- cards? and How to pay using digital E- cards?)

4. Can I top up without needing to go to any top up points/ shops ? ( can I use my bank debit card and pay online for prepayments? )

5. As i have got a SSE gas card, have I already switched to some other company? or Am i still with Utilita? ( i want to stay with Utilita)

6. Will the Smart energy tariff will be automatically applied to me? Or do I need to apply for it separately?